Tags

, ,

Since I got my telescope, I haven’t tried to shoot a Globular Cluster, it was one of my favorite structures when I was young. So I decided to give it a try, but Hercules Globular Cluster was not available, so I went to M3 instead.

20150310_M3_1000iso_21x60s_CLS-CCD

 

Globular Cluster M3
Celestron AVX 8″ SCT
Filter: Astronomik CLS-CCD
Focal Length: 1278 mm
Aperture: f/6.3
ISO: 1000
Shutter: 60s
Stacking: 21
Total exposure: 21min
Aquisition: BackyardEOS
Post processing: PixInsight
Taken Mar 10, 2015 around 22:42 CET

It is impressive how so many stars can be all packed together orbiting our galaxy. In the case of M3 there are half a million stars packed together in a orbital dance.

For this picture I used this tutorial designer to this kind of clusters. I had to change a lot of steps because they didnt fit my image, but the end was a good result nonetheless.

Fun fact: Here is some deep sky objects comparing the apparent size with the moon. You see that many structures are very big, we only dont see it because they are very dim.

