Tags

, , , ,

I was graced with another nice night and decided to try Orion again, but now with longer exposures and using the light pollution filter, and autoguiding. So instead of several short exposures I aimed for longer exposures. As long as I could hold the mount aligned.

For some strange reason, my first picture had a deep blue hue, and that is more a red. Neither of which is what I would expect the true color of Orion Nebula. But that was what I got.

20150310_ORION_1000iso_26x30s_28x90s_CLS-CCD

Orion Nebula (M42)
Celestron AVX 8″ SCT
Filter: Astronomik CLS-CCD
Focal Length: 1278 mm
Aperture: f/6.3
ISO: 1000
Shutter: 30s / 90s
Stacking: 26 / 28
Total exposure: 55min
Aquisition: BackyardEOS
Post processing: PixInsight
Taken Mar 10, 2015 around 20:48 CET

It is incredible what a longer exposure can do. This picture have way more details and more of the faith nebula than the first picture. It is an amazing sight.

Well, I want to talk a bit about AstroBin now. This is a site where you can store and showcase your astronomy pictures. It is very easy to use and you can set up the equipment required to take the pictures and then see what other people with similar equipment was able to do. This gives you a direction to aim for in the future.

But an amazing feature they have is a image analysis that finds out where in the sky your picture was taken, and detect several structures present in your picture. And all automatically. I was quite impressed.

I uploaded some of my images there and i will send some more. Hover the mouse over the image and check out the detection of many stars and structures of my picture: http://www.astrobin.com/163678/

*UPDATE* I did a bit of research to find out the true color of Orion Nebula, since I found weird to have a blue and a red picture. And I found out that the real color is Red due to Halpha emissions

