Tags

, ,

For a surprise of mine, my long exposures subs of M57 seems to bright and the details were lost. So I decided to try just the 15s and 30s frames (same ones from last post). And that is the result:

201309-ring-nebula-2Ring Nebula (M57), Sulafat and Sheliak from Lyra
Focal Length: 300 mm
Aperture: f/5.6
ISO: 800
Filter: Astronomik CLS-CCD
Shutter: 15s / 30s
Tracker: Astrotrac
Stacking: 31 / 42
Total exposure: 1725s
Post processing: Pixinsight
Taken Sep 28th and 29th, 2013 around 00:30-02:00 CEST

It is so much better, you can see the inside of the ring which is fainter, and really can know why it is called Ring Nebula. I would not expect that less exposure would give such better results. I am impressed. So impressed that know I want to try later a HDR composition from Pixinsight, to see if I can get even better results.

I like the detail of the brighter stay in the right bottom corner. It has a sister star in the range of it’s glare.

