Tags

,

To show a bit about the light pollution problem i have here some of my experience of it. I put some different exposures I took from different light polluted places to show how it looks like.

First in Sweden, in a far away village, with very little inhabitants, but where the sun never truly sets:

b60b b30b b15b

Those are 60s, 30s and 15s exposures of Andromeda, those and some more were used to stack into that weird color Andromeda of last post. You can notice that Andromeda is there in the center, but the sky is blue! It looks like you are seeing stars in the day time.

Then there are those subs taken from my balcony in a heavily light polluted sky:

n90n n60n n30n

Those are 90s, 60s and 30s exposures of IC 1805 (which I will post tomorrow). In the center is just a normal star. You can see that the sky in here glows orange/yellow because of the pollution.

Both of them very bad. And longer the exposure, more the sky turns white and you can’t see anything anymore. But the artificial light polluted sky can show more, and better than the not-dark-enough night sky.

So, light pollution is a hassle I will need to deal every time. That is why I will need a light pollution filter soon. But post processing is giving mostly a good result so far. =)

