Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

As for my training in PixInsight, I am starting to understand a bit of it (not much yet, but something.. hehehe). I got to know this Batch Preprocessing script that makes the Bias/Flat/Dark calibration and the Star Alignment all kind of automatically, generating the Master Bias/Flat/Dark and them I just need to use Image Integration to stack it all after the calibration. It is reasonably easy to use, but it takes forever… It was about 3:30 hours yesterday for 47 subs and 30 calibration frames. Deep Sky Stacker seems easier to use for calibration and stacking, but also have the problem to be 32bits and run out of memory pretty fast since it can only use 4GB of RAM. PixInsight seems to not have this problem (maybe some temp files?). And it uses 100% of all 4 CPUs. Quite heavy process (but then again, I made the process have less priority so I could use the PC to other things in the mean while).

So, the result of the work is here:

Pinwheel GalaxyPin-Wheel Galaxy (M101),
and 5 other smaller galaxies (NGC5422, NGC5473, NGC5474, NGC5475, NGC5485)
Crop 1:1 post-processed
Focal Length: 300 mm
Aperture: f/5.6
ISO: 2000
Shutter: 30s / 60s / 90s
Tracker: Astrotrac
Stacking: 38 / 8 / 1
Total exposure: 1710s
Taken Jul 18th, 2013 around 00:10 CEST

It is not a great master piece, but i am so happy that I can see the spiral arms of the galaxy for the first time in my pictures. And also unexpected for me was all those 5 other galaxies come up together. Some of them have magnitude 13. (I noticed that some other galaxies with magnitude 14 that should be in the picture are not, maybe my limit is 13).

Still have about 3 more structures to post-process and will be adding them in here shortly.

