Tags

, , , ,

After waiting for a week for a nice weather, finally it came. Nice sky, and time for some shots. I was recommended to try to use RAW images instead of the JPG that would have more information to extract while stacking. So I set the camera to get both, RAW and JPG, in case the RAW didn’t work. And it didn’t… I don’t know if I did something wrong, but the RAW images after stacking just don’t work. Everything is gone from the image. So I stacked the JPG. Will need to learn how to make those RAW work. In the mean time, will just keep it here for tests.

I am learning how to aim to my target in a light polluted sky from my balcony. I move in small degrees and take some pictures in the way, and can localize myself from the pictures and a starmap. It is working quite well.

So, since I saw that galaxies where showing just a blur, I thought: well clusters would be a nice thing to try. And it actually is very interesting.

Perseus Double ClusterPerseus Double Cluster (NGC 869 and NGC 884)
Crop 1:1 post-processed
Focal Length: 300 mm
Aperture: f/5.6
ISO: 5000
Shutter: 1.6s
Tracker: None
Stacking: 60
Total exposure: 96s
Taken Jul 14th, 2013 around 00:13 CEST

I got quite a lot of star trail on this after post-processing. Maybe should decrease to 1.3 sec exposure and try again (or wait my Astrotrac). Also might be interesting to try some globular clusters, should be quite amazing.

This night i was able to take some more shots of some other structures, that I will post tomorrow. =)

See you…

