Tags

, , ,

Since my first attempt to catch Andromeda failed, I decided to try again next day. I read a lot about Andromeda, and I was surprised to know how big it is in the night sky. I found this very interesting picture giving an example. According to what I found, the Full Moon has apparent size of 31 arcmin and Andromeda has 192.4 by 62.2 arcmin. It is pretty big since it is 2.5 million light-years alway from us.

So I set up in my balcony and again used the same technique as the previous day. The result was not impressive. But i was very glad to see Andromeda there. And I was surprised to see that M32 also showed up a bit below to the right of Andromeda.

Andromeda GalaxyAndromeda (M31) and M32
Full Picture post-processed
Focal Length: 300 mm
Aperture: f/5.6
ISO: 6400
Shutter: 1.6s
Tracker: None
Stacking: 71
Total exposure: 113.6s
Taken Jul 8th, 2013 around 23:50

I could not see Andromeda with my naked eyes, but in the view finder I could almost. But I aimed the picture from 35v-And and 32-And which are both in the bottom of the picture.

This picture had so much more light pollution that i was not able to make the sky look dark. It was quite hard. And not many details of Andromeda are shown. But well… small steps. =D

